Texting And Driving Laws In Louisiana
This is Seth Smiley of the Smiley Law Firm here with today’s Parents of Teen Drivers Group topic. I had a comment asking about the laws about texting and driving in Louisiana so let’s take a look at that.
Back in 2008 the legislature made texting and driving illegal all over the state of Louisiana (it is also widely unlawful in other areas). It was around this time that smartphones became popular, and it became evident changes had to be made.
Smartphones developed, and apps for social media became prevalent in everyday use, so in 2016 the laws were made more robust. You can go to Louisiana revised statute 32 300.5 through 8, and it states that there is a prohibition on texting and driving, which includes social media, emails, and instant messaging.
It allows for the use of GPS and calling for anyone over the age of 18. Under 18s, they are not allowed to use cellphones while driving under any circumstances – except to call for help. The fines can be pretty severe and start at $500 and increase to $1,000. Multiple occurrences can mean you can lose your license for up to 60 days.
The strictest measures are for using your smartphone within school zones. The penalties in that situation, particularly if you cause an accident, start to get really severe.
So, it is essential to make your kids aware of these laws and to use them as a deterrent. Don’t allow them to use cellphones while driving!
If you have any points to raise about this, please comment below, or I am happy to answer detailed questions regarding the law if you send me an email firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Pro Tip To Help With Peace Of Mind While Your Teen Is On The Road
- Texting Laws Are Saving Teen Lives
- American Academy of Pediatrics GDL Recommendations
- UPDATE Teen Drivers Need To Take Physical Test to Get License in Georgia
- How to Handle Your Teen’s Personal Injury Claim – Shortest Version Possible
- What Should Your Teen Do If They Get Pulled Over By The Police?
- How To Handle Property Damage Claims For Your Teen
- Teach Your Teen To Do This If They Are In A Wreck
- Can Teens Drive Their Siblings in Louisiana?
- Is It Safe For Teens To Get Licensed Without Proper Testing?